The “2021 World’s Most Admired Wine Brands” Announced

Now in its 12th year, The World’s Most Admired Wine Brands is a list of the 50 most admired wine producers from around the globe.

Drinks International polled wine professionals, journalists, educators and MWs in 48 different countries and asked them to make three votes from the list of previous winners or to put forward their own suggestions if the name is not on the list.

Some of the factors included:

The wine is of consistent or improving quality;

The wine reflects its region or country of origin;

The wine responds to the needs and tastes of its target audience;

The wine is well marketed and packaged; and

The wine has a strong appeal to a wide demographic.

Here is the list of the “Top Ten” 2021 Most Admired Wine Brands:

RANK/WINE BRAND/COUNTRY

1          Familia Torres – Spain

2          Bodega Cateña – Argentina

3          Vega Sicilia – Spain

4          Henschke – Australia

5          Concha y Toro – Chile

6          Penfolds – Australia

7          Domaine de la Romanée Conti – France

8          CVNE – Spain

9          Antinori – Italy

10        Chateau Musar – Lebanon

Drinks International editor Shay Waterworth states: “The World’s Most Admired Wine Brands 2022 showcases the most iconic, innovative and respected producers in the world.”

For further details:  http://surl.li/brjhd

#wine #winenews #wineawards #drinks #FamiliaTorres #BodegaCateña #Henschke #VegaSicilia #ConchayToro #Penfolds #RomanéeConti #CVNE #Antinori #chateaumusar #winebrands #winesofspain #winesofargentina #winesofaustralia #winesofchile #winesoffrance #winesoflebanon #winelovers #winetasting

South Africa’s Wine Exports Bounce Back After Two Years

The South African wine industry is making a comeback after facing serious challenges the past two years.

There was a distinct silver lining when wine exports recovered to a healthy“volume of 388 million litres, which amounted to R10.2-billion” according to a statement by Wines of South Africa.

There was a strong demand from UK, US and China, these three countries helped South African wine exports increase by 12.1% in value to R10.2bn in 2021.

Top Export Markets

The UK remains South Africa’s largest export market. Volume sales to UK increased 12% to 92.5 million litres; value sales up 20% to R2.5bn.

Germany was the second largest export market, with volumes at compared to the previous year.

Shipments to the US increased 134% by volume and 39% by value to reach R887m.

The Netherlands was the fourth largest export market (by value), followed by other African countries, with exports increasing 50%. Canada and France were also very strong.

The fastest growth came from China, with exports increasing 189% by volume and 59% by value to R458 million. China is now South Africa’s eighth largest export market.

The South African alcoholic drinks industry suffered a very challenging few years as the government imposed a series of domestic sales bans and export bans during the pandemic.

“It is good for our recovery efforts, as the alcohol industry has suffered almost five alcohol bans which amount to about 26 weeks of non-trading,” said National Liquor Traders Council spokesperson Lucky Ntimane. “So the announcement is a welcome relief, but people need to understand that this is also not a licence for non-compliance. It does not mean that Covid-19 is gone or disappeared.”

The popular trade show Cape Wine is set to take place in October, which could give the industry an added boost. It was initially scheduled for September 2021, but it had to be postponed due to a coronavirus outbreak.

#southafricawine #wosa #southafrica #winewinewine #winelover #winelovers #instawine #instagramwine #winetime #wineculture #cheers #wineinsta #wineinstagram #winenews #wineeconomics #winetravel #wine #redwine #whitewine #rosewine

Burgundy’s Rising Prices Drive Liv-ex 1000 Index In January

 

  • The Liv-ex 1000 continued its bull run into the new year, rising 3.5%.
  • The Burgundy 150 was its best-performing sub-index, up 6.4%.
  • Champagne 50 and Rest of the World 60 followed, both rising 5.6%.

The broadest measure of the market, the Liv-ex Fine Wine 1000 index, rose 3.5% in January to close the month at 439.3.

The index is up 22.3% over one year versus 25.2% for the industry benchmark, the Liv-ex 100. All of the Liv-ex 1000 sub-indices increased last month.

Burgundy outperforms the broader market

The Burgundy 150 index was the best performer, up 6.4%. Prices for the region’s wines continue to soar, driven by looming shortages. Meanwhile, the 2020 En Primeur campaign stimulated demand for back vintages and the region took 24.6% of the market by value last month.

Both the Champagne 50 and the Rest of the World 60 sub-indices rose 5.6%.

Louis Roederer Cristal 2008 – the most traded wine by value in January – was also the top price performer in the Champagne 50, up 19.2%.

The biggest mover within the Rest of the World 60 was Dominus 2015, up 17.7%.

The Bordeaux 500 index has continued to lag behind the other sub-indices, rising just 1.0% in January. The performance of its sub-regions has been mixed, with some of the best-performers coming from Pomerol and rising between 14% to 18%.

Source Liv-Ex

#finewine #wineinvestment #wineinvestors #champagne #winenews #bordeaux #burgundy #frenchwine #livex #alternativeinvestment #investment #alternativeinvestments

@livexwine

Miguel Torres (Chile) joins International Wineries for Climate Action (IWCA)

International Wineries for Climate Action (IWCA) has increased its collaborative effort to decarbonize the global wine sector with the admission of five new wineries hailing from France, Chile and Australia.

Miguel Torres (Chile) has become the latest silver member of IWCA, and four other wineries from France, Chile and Australia have signed up as applicant members, committed to take immediate action to reduce their carbon emissions.

The total number of IWCA members now stands at 27 wineries, who have joined in the time since its foundation by winemakers Miguel A. Torres (Familia Torres) and Katie Jackson (Jackson Family Wines) in February 2019.

Miguel Torres has joined as Silver Member after committing to become Net Zero by 2050 at the latest and completing an annual third-party audited greenhouse gas emissions inventory.

The winery, founded in 1979 by Miguel Torres, is one of the main Chilean producers of premium wines with 400-hectare organic vineyards and presence in over 100 countries.

“We must undertake concrete actions to reduce and mitigate the impacts produced by our processes. All companies should do the same. Our participation in IWCA is key for us as we will join a strict protocol to mitigate CO2 emissions, adopt actions implemented by other wineries around the world and share information regarding new projects” said Jaime Valderrama, General Manager of Miguel Torres Chile.

The other four wineries that have been accepted as IWCA’s applicant members are Champagne Lanson and Famille Perrin from France, Viña Undurraga from Chile and Voyager Estate from Australia.

 

IWCA has launched two regionally adapted IWCA calculators for wineries in Australia and New Zealand. These tools have been developed in collaboration with Sustridge and Yealands for current and potential members of IWCA to calculate their annual GHG emissions inventories and include the most material emissions sources for typical wineries and vineyards.

 

#IWCA #wine #winelovers #MiguelTorres #winenews #iwca #racetozero #racetoresilience #sustainablewine #eyeonclimate #climatechange #sustainability #climateaction #wine #vino #vin #instawine @iwcawine

Save the Dates: 2022 Wine Days to Celebrate!

To help you plan for 2022, here is list of some of the biggest wine days out there – in chronological order.

This list is comprised of important national or international wine days, with relevant hashtags, is a great starting point to assist you in planning fun and engaging posts. If I missed any dates, or if there are any new dates to be added, please let me know.

Happy Wine Tasting!

Liz Palmer

February

February 1, 2022 – International Furmint Day – #furmintday
February 16, 2022 – International Syrah Day – #syrahday
February 18, 2022 – Global Drink Wine Day – #drinkwineday
February 26, 2022 – Open That Bottle Night – #openthatbottlenight

March

March 3, 2022 – Mulled Wine Day – #mulledwineday
March 13, 2022 – International Riesling Day – #rieslingday

April

April 14, 2022 – Tannat Day – #tannatday
April 17, 2022 – World Malbec Day – #malbecday
April 23, 2022 – International Cava Day – #cavaday
April 27, 2022 – World Marselan Day – #worldmarselanday
April 29, 2022 – International Viognier Day – #internationalviognierday

May

May 6, 2022 – International Sauvignon Blanc Day – #sauvignonblancday
May 9, 2022 – World Moscato Day – #worldmoscatoday
May 17, 2022 – Pinot Grigio Day – #pinotgrigioday
May 25, 2022 – National Wine Day – #nationalwineday
May 26, 2022 – International Chardonnay Day – #internationalchardonnayday

June

June 10, 2022 – World Verdejo Day – #worldverdejoday
June 11, 2022 – National Rosé Day – #nationalroseday
June 18, 2022 – Drink Chenin Blanc Day – #drinkcheninblancday
June 20, 2022 – International Chenin Blanc Day -#internationaldrinkcheninblancday
June 21, 2022 – World Lambrusco Day – #worldlambruscoday

July

July 22, 2022 – Shiraz Day #shirazday
July 25, 2022 – National Wine & Cheese Day – #wine&cheeseday

August

August 1, 2022 – International Albarino Day – #albarinoday
August 4, 2022 – National White Wine Day – #nationalwhitewineday
August 13, 2022 – International Prosecco Day – #proseccoday
August 18, 2022 – International Pinot Noir Day – #pinotnoirday
August 28, 2022 – National Red Wine Day – #redwineday
August 30, 2022 – International Cabernet Day – #cabernetday

September

September 1, 2022 – International Cap Classique Day – #capclassiqueday
September 1, 2022 – International Cabernet Day – #cabernetsauvignonday

September 2, 2022 – National Chianti Day – #chiantiday
September 10, 2022 – International Port Wine Day – #internationalportday
September 16, 2022 – International Grenache Day #grenacheday

October

October 5, 2022 – World Vranec Day – #worldvranecday
October 6, 2022 – National Orange Wine Day – #nationalorangewineday
October 8, 2022 – International Pinotage Day – #pinotageday
October 14, 2022 – Prokupac Day – #prokupacday
October 26, 2022 – International Mavrud Day – #mavrudday
October 27, 2022 – International Carignan Day – #carignanday
October 28 – World Champagne Day – #champagneday

November

November 1, 2022 – International Xinomavro Day – #internationalxinomavroday
November 7, 2022 – International Merlot Day – #internationalmerlotday
November 10, 2022 – International Tempranillo Day -#internationaltempranilloday
November 12, 2022 – Wine Tourism Day – #winetourismday
November 16, 2022 – National Zinfandel Day – #zinfandelday
November 17, 2022 – Beaujolais Nouveau Day – #beaujolaisnouveauday
November 24, 2022 – International Carmenere Day – #carménèreday

December

December 1, 2022 – International Maratheftiko Day – #maratheftikoday
December 4, 2022 – International Cabernet Franc Day – #cabernetfrancday
December 10, 2022 – World Aszú Day – #worldazsuday
December 16, 2022 – Pinot Meunier Day – #meunierday

#winedays #2022winedays #winecalendar #winelovers
#wine #winetasting #redwine #whitewine #rosewine #instawine #winetime
#winenews #internationalwineday #nationalwineday #cheers #winestagram
#winetourism #winemarketing #digitalmarketing #vin #vinho #vino