Save the Dates: 2022 Wine Days to Celebrate!

To help you plan for 2022, here is list of some of the biggest wine days out there – in chronological order.

This list is comprised of important national or international wine days, with relevant hashtags, is a great starting point to assist you in planning fun and engaging posts. If I missed any dates, or if there are any new dates to be added, please let me know.

Happy Wine Tasting!

Liz Palmer

February

February 1, 2022 – International Furmint Day – #furmintday
February 16, 2022 – International Syrah Day – #syrahday
February 18, 2022 – Global Drink Wine Day – #drinkwineday
February 26, 2022 – Open That Bottle Night – #openthatbottlenight

March

March 3, 2022 – Mulled Wine Day – #mulledwineday
March 13, 2022 – International Riesling Day – #rieslingday

April

April 14, 2022 – Tannat Day – #tannatday
April 17, 2022 – World Malbec Day – #malbecday
April 23, 2022 – International Cava Day – #cavaday
April 27, 2022 – World Marselan Day – #worldmarselanday
April 29, 2022 – International Viognier Day – #internationalviognierday

May

May 6, 2022 – International Sauvignon Blanc Day – #sauvignonblancday
May 9, 2022 – World Moscato Day – #worldmoscatoday
May 17, 2022 – Pinot Grigio Day – #pinotgrigioday
May 25, 2022 – National Wine Day – #nationalwineday
May 26, 2022 – International Chardonnay Day – #internationalchardonnayday

June

June 10, 2022 – World Verdejo Day – #worldverdejoday
June 11, 2022 – National Rosé Day – #nationalroseday
June 18, 2022 – Drink Chenin Blanc Day – #drinkcheninblancday
June 20, 2022 – International Chenin Blanc Day -#internationaldrinkcheninblancday
June 21, 2022 – World Lambrusco Day – #worldlambruscoday

July

July 22, 2022 – Shiraz Day #shirazday
July 25, 2022 – National Wine & Cheese Day – #wine&cheeseday

August

August 1, 2022 – International Albarino Day – #albarinoday
August 4, 2022 – National White Wine Day – #nationalwhitewineday
August 13, 2022 – International Prosecco Day – #proseccoday
August 18, 2022 – International Pinot Noir Day – #pinotnoirday
August 28, 2022 – National Red Wine Day – #redwineday
August 30, 2022 – International Cabernet Day – #cabernetday

September

September 1, 2022 – International Cap Classique Day – #capclassiqueday
September 1, 2022 – International Cabernet Day – #cabernetsauvignonday

September 2, 2022 – National Chianti Day – #chiantiday
September 10, 2022 – International Port Wine Day – #internationalportday
September 16, 2022 – International Grenache Day #grenacheday

October

October 5, 2022 – World Vranec Day – #worldvranecday
October 6, 2022 – National Orange Wine Day – #nationalorangewineday
October 8, 2022 – International Pinotage Day – #pinotageday
October 14, 2022 – Prokupac Day – #prokupacday
October 26, 2022 – International Mavrud Day – #mavrudday
October 27, 2022 – International Carignan Day – #carignanday
October 28 – World Champagne Day – #champagneday

November

November 1, 2022 – International Xinomavro Day – #internationalxinomavroday
November 7, 2022 – International Merlot Day – #internationalmerlotday
November 10, 2022 – International Tempranillo Day -#internationaltempranilloday
November 12, 2022 – Wine Tourism Day – #winetourismday
November 16, 2022 – National Zinfandel Day – #zinfandelday
November 17, 2022 – Beaujolais Nouveau Day – #beaujolaisnouveauday
November 24, 2022 – International Carmenere Day – #carménèreday

December

December 1, 2022 – International Maratheftiko Day – #maratheftikoday
December 4, 2022 – International Cabernet Franc Day – #cabernetfrancday
December 10, 2022 – World Aszú Day – #worldazsuday
December 16, 2022 – Pinot Meunier Day – #meunierday

#winedays #2022winedays #winecalendar #winelovers
#wine #winetasting #redwine #whitewine #rosewine #instawine #winetime
#winenews #internationalwineday #nationalwineday #cheers #winestagram
#winetourism #winemarketing #digitalmarketing #vin #vinho #vino

Covent Garden launches a three-week Rosé Festival

Rosé season is here and to celebrate all things pink, Covent Garden [London] is hosting its first-ever three-week rosé festival which runs from May 17th to 6th June 6th.

Over 20 restaurants participating with over 30 varieties of rosé wine, rosé cocktails, rosé themed menus, as well as 9 pop-ups from Mirabeau, Amie Wine, HUN Wine, Dirty Martini, Chez Antoinette x AIX-en-Provence, Magners, The Bubble Bros, Fiona Fleur and The Oystermen x Pol Roger which will be taking over Covent Garden’s Piazza.

With the return of indoor dining, restaurants across Covent Garden will also reopen over 2,500 additional dining spots. The area will remain at the heart of outdoor dining with the botanical pocket garden seating area on the East Piazza remaining open for takeaway drinking and dining.

 

For visitors wanting to join in the blush celebrations but preferring non-alcoholic options Ladurée will host a rosé-inspired afternoon tea, Shake Shack will offer a limited-edition cherry blossom pink shake, Amorino will be serving their very instagramable rose-shaped ice-creams in a multitude of flavours and Bubble Wrap will sell an exclusive Covent Garden Rosé and Strawberry Blossom combo. For tea connoisseurs, Whittard and Mariage Freres will also be offering over 40 rose blend teas.

I would say it’s time for a glass of rosé and some retail therapy!

For more information and details about the Rosé Festival, indoor and outdoor dining and shopping log into coventgarden.london

#rosewine #cocktails #wineevent #instawine #rosewinelovers #winelovers #wine #CoventGarden #RoseAllDay #AlfrescoLondon #RoseFestival #ThisisLondon #rosè

JeT 2020 Wine Launch [Castello Di Montepo]

What a lovely surprise – I received a personal letter from Jacopo Biondi Santi and Tancredi Biondi Santi announcing the launch of their JeT 2020 vintage – what a nice touch!

Here is a unique backstory on this wine.

  • This wine was created out of passion and innovation
  • The initials “JeT” represents Jacopo and Tancredi
  • This wine was developed with oenologist Donato Lanati after 3 years of research
  • The Sangiovese Grosso “BBS11” clone is the innovation of the Family – an off-the-skin vinification at low temperatures
  • This variety is typical of the Tuscan Maremma’s territory

Soil: coarse-grained Galestro

Altitude: 300 – 500 metres a.s.l.

Variety: Sangiovese grosso BBS11 100%

Tasting notes

This elegant rose from Castello Di Montepo is pale blush and soft rose in colour; it exhibits freshness with the intensely of fruit and floral notes which all transforms on the palate; impressive structure, well-balanced through to a long lingering finish.  Delightful!

91/100

#CastellodiMontepò #natura #Maremma #castello #Toscana #italianwine #italianwinelover #terroir #winemaking #winelovers #wineglass #CastellodiMontepò @castellodimontepo #winery #awardwinning #Tuscany #winemaker #Jetrosé #Sangiovese #rosèallday #JacopoBiondiSanti #TancrediBiondiSanti

Results of the “First Rosé Selection” by Concours Mondial de Bruxelles

The results of the first Rosé Selection by Concours Mondial de Bruxelles were released last week. The high number of entries for this first-time event proves its relevance for both producers and consumers.

Over 1,000 rosés were tasted in ‘lockdown’ and in full compliance with safety measures. The organizers hosted the four days of tastings with irreproachable professionalism. Strict safety measures were ensured throughout, from the lay-out of the tables to serving the wines and disinfecting the equipment.

In addition to the silver, gold and grand gold medals, the competition also awarded ‘revelation’ trophies to rosés that scored the highest in their category.

2021 Vinolok Revelation (Best competing rosé): La Madrague, Cuvée Charlotte / Côtes de Provence, France

2021 Medium-Dry Rosé Revelation: Vinia Traian, Cabernet Sauvignon / Cahul, Republic of Moldova

2021 Fortified Wine Revelation: Domaine du Chêne, Rosé / Pineau des Charentes, France

2021 Sparkling Wine Revelation: Matisak, Méthode Traditionelle Rosé Dry / Sekt, Slovakia

2021 Spanish Wine Revelation: Jaume Serra, Pinot Noir Cuvée Especial 2016 / Cava, Espagne

2021 Portuguese Wine Revelation: Sogrape, Inspirações Rosé / Bairrada, Portugal

2021 Italian Wine Revelation: Cantina Terzini, Rosato / Cerasuolo d’Abruzzo, Italy

Traditionally, rosé has been popular in spring and summer – this has changed. Rosé consumption year-round has gained traction in many countries across the globe, for numerous reasons: Rosé is fresh, accessible and multi-faceted; It lends itself to many different occasions, from the aperitif to al fresco drinking and mealtimes; It can partner with an extensive range of cuisines, particularly global cuisine, which is also extremely popular at the moment, including sushi to spicy foods and tomato sauce-based dishes.

View all the results here: https://concoursmondial.com/en/results/

#rosewine #pinkwine #winelovers #wine #instawine #winetasting #winenews #vin #roseallday #vin #sommelier #sparklingwine #wines #frenchwine #allday #provence #wineporn #drinkpink #cheers #wein #pinkwine

 

Les Dames d’Escoffier Ontario Chapter Launches “Women in Wine Talks™” with Elizabeth Gabay MW June 11, 2020

The Les Dames d’Escoffier Ontario (Canada) Chapter created “Women in Wine Talks ™” as an online platform to promote women in the wine industry. Women in Wine Talks includes virtual online conversations, talks, and panel discussions on all aspects of the industry.

Women in Wine Talks ™ shine the spotlight on global women business leaders, winemakers, authors and other industry experts, with participants ranging from beginners through to wine professionals.

 About Les Dames d’Escoffier Ontario (Canada)

The Les Dames d’Escoffier Ontario (Canada) Chapter launched spring 2019, and is fully dedicated to supporting women leadership, providing educational opportunities and hosting philanthropic events in the wine, culinary and hospitality fields. Our members not only share knowledge among colleagues, we support talented young women as they aspire to become the leaders of tomorrow in their chosen professions, through our impactful scholarship program.

First in our Series

The first in our series of Women in Wine Talks ™ includes a talk and tasting with Elizabeth Gabay MW. Elizabeth is one of the world’s foremost authorities on rosé wines, the author of ‘Rosé: Understanding the Pink Wine Revolution’, and President of the Jury at International Rosé Challenge.

Date: June 11, 2020

Time: 2:30 – 3:30 pm EDT (EG is based in South of France)

Cost:  $20.00

Registration: https://bit.ly/3gGqhjn

Choose one, two Rosés, or three Rosés on the list below (recommended by Elizabeth), sit back, sip, savour, and learn while Elizabeth Gabay MW discusses Rosé: Understanding the Pink Wine Revolution.

Wines being discussed (all available at the LCBO)

  1. Muscat and rosé: Banrock Station Pink Moscato or Jacob’s Creek Moscato rosé or Gapsted Moscato rosé or Bodacious Moscato rosé Canada
  2. Historic Italian rosé: CantineArte Gaia Cerasuolo’Abruzzo or Di Bernardino d’Abruzzo or Cirelli Cerasuolo Anfora or Castel del Monte Rosé
  3. The importance of Portugal: Pink Bang Rosé (Touriga Nacional) or Mateus Rosé
  4. Traditional Italian red regions going pink: Kis Sparkling Maremma (could also choose a Tuscan rosé) Rosato, Sangiovese
  5. Central Europe: Pittnauer Rosé Dogma Burgenland, Blaufrankisch
  6. Dark juice rosé: Rustenberg Petit Verdot rosé, South Africa
  7. Indigenous varieties: Karamolegos Terranera, Greece or Kir Yianni Alakies Xinomavro